1998 | Namco | Playstation

Klonoa is a game that’s near and dear to my heart and has been since I first played it on release in 1998. I imagine that my 6 year old brain wasn’t able to fully comprehend the games tone, story and themes. But that never stopped me from being completely enveloped by its heart warming presentation, the wonderfully adventurous music and Klonoa’s signature “Wahoo”. From that point onward I’d revisit this game year after year and slowly over the course of many years I started to understand the story. As my grasp of the English language improved it also improved my realization of why the ending always brought me to tears. It’s a wonderful game and luckily now also fully remastered alongside its sequel in Klonoa: The Phantom Reverie series.

This game changed the way I’d view games not just as a medium, but as a vessel for unlimited amounts of storytelling that could be enjoyed, lived through and interacted with. As such I found it fitting to start my journey of making videos with Klonoa: Door to Phantomile. I hope you will enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed making it.


Leave a comment